PDA

View Full Version : Help with Pedersoli Rolling Block loading - HELP

ckpj99
10-31-2015, 03:57 PM
First off, this is my first post here. I've been posting for answers to this question in other forums, and I just haven't gotten any solid information. The little info I have found was in previous posts on this site so I signed up. I hope you all can help.

A little background - I've been loading 45-70 for several years. First for an original 1884 Trapdoor, next for an H&R Buffalo Classic.

I recently purchased a 1986 Pedersoli Rolling Block. It's apparently a Calvary Model in stunning condition. It has a 26" octagon to round barrel. I've never handled a rifle with a barrel profile this heavy. I'm really excited to shoot it, but I'm not sure about my reloads.

This will probably be kinda of a long post, so I apologize, but I'm desperate.

I've had really good luck using 510 grain "Hunters" brand hard cast lead bullets. They are advertised as 15 Brinell hardness and .459 diameter, but I measure them at .460 at the widest point on the driving bands using a micrometer. (I've attached a photo showing the other measurements of the bullet, but it has a .449 nose diameter)

Using these bullets in my H&R, I was able to seat the nose of the bullet into the barrel/throat and get the rifling to hit the first driving band.

However, when I tried these bullets in my new Pedersoli, the nose would not enter the barrel.

Next, I slugged the barrel. It has a .458 groove diameter and a .446-447 land diameter. Given these diameters I was expecting the nose of the bullet to at engrave on the rifling, but no amount of thumb pressure would get the bullet to enter the rifling. As an experiment, I kept seating the bullet deeper and deeper into the case until it would chamber. The overall length ended up being 2.550 (which weirdly is the OAL of flat point 405 grain cartridges).