PDA

View Full Version : Lee 2-Cavity Saga

BABore
10-13-2005, 10:27 AM
I'm pretty new to casting and have only acquired 5 molds. My latest mold is a Lee 476-325 2-cavity. It casts a 0.477 dia GC bullet roughly to the LBT design. I know, I know, but I figured I'd take a chance. After getting it I prepped it for a first tryout. I chamfered the top edge of the blocks to allow better venting under the sprue plate and gave it a general deburring. Lapped the way too thin sprue plate flat, lubed it according to Lee, and left it on the loose side. I inspected the goofy alignment system and criss cross vent lines, shuddered a little, and went to casting.

I started with straight WW's at 750 F. Used a ladel with 0.200 spout hole and a pressure pour. One cavity would fill out but the second wouldn't. Switching them around also switched the results. Played around with different pouring techniques, but could only get a decent bullet on the first pour. Tried alloy temps up to 925 F with similar results. The good bullets had good weight variance but the GC shanks seemed a bit small. Figured I had a venting problem. On a positive note, both cavities dropped bullets right out.