PDA

View Full Version : Springfield Trapdoor 50-70

The Ozzman
10-17-2015, 10:11 AM
Hey guys.

This is my first post here, I hope in the right section and by the rules.

I refer to a Springfield Trapdoor Rifle in 50-70, the actual trapdoor/breech is dated 1869, whilst the lock plate on the side is dated 1863. I am new to the trapdoor domain but I beleive this is an Allin conversion from a percussion rifle.

The outside has some surface pitting, dings, dents etc. The bore has well defined rifling, with some pitting throughout. Most of it looks fine based on my experience with pitting, however there is one smallish dark pit a bit smaller than a fingernail (but oblong) that I am not sure about.

I would like to be able to shoot this gun in time. I do not have a bore scope.

Running (gently) a Mosin cleaning rod down to the pit, the top of the cleaning rod snags slightly, but it's not like it sinks into a deep cavern.

This pit is about 20 inches along the barrel, so it's quite aways from the chamber.

The way I see it, I could try (blackpowder only) with caution. I could have the gun sleeved with a bore liner or I could have it modfied into a mock Trapdoor carbine. Upon recent enquiry with smiths, I have been infromed that most do not do re lining of guns anymore, perhaps lack of demand? Who knows.

So what should I do? I would eventually like to shoot this gun. I would be happy to learn how to paper patch in order to emeliorate leading issues.

So, thanks for having me and thanks in advance for any tips you may be able to offer.

M-Tecs
10-17-2015, 11:54 AM
Lots still reline. John Taylor on this forum would be a good start. http://www.johntaylormachine.com/49.0.html

http://www.texas-mac.com/Relining_a_Springfield_Trapdoor_Barrel.html

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?161721-Relining-a-Springfield-Trapdoor-Barrel&highlight=T.J.'s%20liners

http://www.redmansrifling.com/liners.htm