PDA

View Full Version : Nose Wrinkles!

Potsy
10-07-2015, 11:49 PM
I wasn't real sure where to post this. So I thought I'd just put it here

I've been casting for about 10 years. I've got a few Lee Molds, a few Lymans, and 1 MiHec Aluminium 6 Cavity H&G 68. I have sort of figured out the technique with them and can cast without TOO many culls (I may be too picky). No wrinkles, filled out bases, smooth sprues, and filled out driving bands MOST of the time.

BUUUT, I've got a MiHec 270-SAA clone and the MiHec 225 CM both in 2-cavity brass and I have devil's own time with them.

A little background, I cast with a Lee pot (it's a drip o matic that I just ladle out of anymore because I had zero luck with bottom pour and couldn't really figure out any advantage) set on 8-9. I clean my molds and try to keep the oil out of the cavities (which should burn out after a couple dozen cycles anyway). I've poured fast, I've poured slow, I've tilted the mold, I've tried holding it straight up, I've tried keeping it cool, I've tried frosting the daylights out of them, but still, I wind up rejecting over half of the SAA's and do well to keep a fourth of the CM's and both only get that good after a LOT of cycles (like over 50). Lots of nose wrinkles on both and the front driving band not completely filling out on the SAA. Both cavities, both mold halves. Just every now and again I'll get the perfect bullet. So I know it CAN do it, I just can't make it happen more than occasionally.

I know it's all pretty subjective, but does anyone have any ideas? I like the CM and LOVE the SAA, but casting them is SLOW going.

bangerjim
10-08-2015, 12:10 AM
Grease & oil are not your problems! They do NOT cause wrinkles.

Buy an electric hot plate and use it to heat all of your molds to full casting temperature (NOT just warm) B4 ever starting. Wrinkles are caused by cold molds and cold alloy. Brass loves to be VERY HOT and they take a long time to heat up. Much more than aluminum.