PDA

View Full Version : American B36 Bandsaw-could use some help

Mal Paso
09-29-2015, 11:56 AM
I just acquired an American B36 Bandsaw. I haven't checked the runout in the wheels, going to try to do that today. I could use whatever pointers to getting it running and sources for bands, tires, and parts. It might be "Garden Art" but I'm going to take a shot at getting it running. I think it was made between 1900 and 1925.

Duckiller
09-29-2015, 01:59 PM
Mal. Rockler Woodworking has tires that are adjustable. This is from memory, replaced my made in China saw before the tires went. Had a local craftsman the sharpened saw blades and would make band saw blades any length. He got old and retired. May be a local sharpening service that would do band saw blades. No idea on parts but the internet is wonderful. Lots of luck with your new toy. Jeff

jcren
09-29-2015, 02:06 PM
I am not familiar with that rig, but I built industrial bandsaws for a living and ours didn't have tires, the track pull-back was set by the jacking bolts on the idler and blade guide position.

W.R.Buchanan
09-30-2015, 10:35 AM
Mal: check the wheels with a strait edge to see if they have a crown on them if they do it will probably run without tires.

The thing about old machinery like this is that it is infinitely rebuildable. As long as most all the parts are there it is just a matter of Sand Blasting and painting everything. I usually use a palm sander with fine wet or dry sandpaper to refinish machined surfaces like the top of the table.

All bearings and belts will be available at any Bearing House.

Good Luck and you'll have a piece of machinery that will last another 100 years.

Randy

ndnchf
09-30-2015, 07:06 PM
Check out www.owwm.org

Mal Paso
09-30-2015, 09:19 PM
Thanks Guys!