PDA

View Full Version : Getting the most accurate shots before cleaning 45/70

seac
09-24-2015, 02:18 PM
I have been shooting cast boolits with smokeless powder for many years in my 45/70 Sharps rifles. Just recently, I started using black powder loads. Seems that with BP, I can get only about 5 accurate shots before the group opens up all over the paper. My load is 50gr FFF Goex with either a 340gr or 405gr boolit. I use 44 Orange wax lube which has worked well for my smokeless loads. I am wondering how many shots others are getting before losing accuracy and needing to clean the bore.

Larry Gibson
09-24-2015, 02:49 PM
You need to use a softer BP type lube and up the powder charge for a more efficient "burn". Or.....use a duplex load to keep the fouling down to a manageable level. I have fired 100+ rounds using my duplex load (5 gr SR4759 with 52 gr GOEX fffg over it under Lee 405HB bullet) through my H&R trapdoor carbine w/o any loss of accuracy between the 1st 5 shots and the last. Velocity of that load is 1150 fps matching the 45-55 G'vmt carbine load.

Larry Gibson

frnkeore
09-24-2015, 03:22 PM
There are two ways to deal with this but, I recommend 1/16" LDPE wads, under the bullet base, for both.

Duplex, is the first. Use 10 - 15% smokeless (i.e. with 50gr BP, use 5 - 7.5 gr). If your using Lee 340 & 405 bullets, your handy capped by the small lube capacity of them, although it's more recoil, the Lee 500 gr 3R bullet is a lot better for lube.

The duplex powders that you'll want to use for the 10 - 15% rule are 296, 4227 & 4759). I hold two West Coast BP records one with 296 (45/70) and the other with 4759 (32/35).

The other way is to "blow tube". You modify a case to attach a piece of surgical tubing to it and blow through it several times (more on a low humidity day). The mositure in your breath, softens the fouling.

I found much better accuracy using FG GOEX over any others. There are less "fines" (dust) in the courser granulations, giving lower ES's.