PDA

View Full Version : If lead melts at a lower temp than zinc....

Lowpower
09-20-2015, 01:12 AM
I've spent the past 3 hours searching for info about the smelting process regarding the dreaded missed zinc WW that gets into the mix. I've also read about removing zinc with sulfur. Am I missing something? Isn't it possible to run a pot around 640F or so and scoop out any zinc that might have been missed? Please correct me if I'm wrong as I really want to know but if Lead melts at a much lower temp than Zinc doesn't the zinc remain as a solid that can be removed?

Since I'm a beginner at smelting/pouring bullets a friend and mentor came over and together we smelted WW and were able to produce a couple of hundred finished 540 gr bullets and the remainder was poured into a lyman ingot mold. I think I got 14 or so ingots from my pot which I think is only a 20 lb Lyman bottom pour. I'm adding a PID to see if I can further regulate the temps to minimize smelting zinc.

Am I going about this right?

BTW- WW's are not a problem for me and we still have lots of lead around here. I always seem to have 75# of WW in my garage. My main problem is
our temps are outa sight which limits my casting. They always seem to be in the high 90's with 70% humidity. Fall is here so I'm going to try to smelt then cast a lot of bullets this winter so all I will need to do if smelt any new lead I get for next winters pot.

Thanks for any and all help.
Lp

LAGS
09-20-2015, 02:04 AM
Lead does melt at a lower temperature than Zinc.
But once lead and Zinc are melted together, and Stired or fluxed, they form an alloy or an Amalgam, and they do not seperate easily.
I did have a batch of lead, that I accidently threw some zinc WW in the pot.
They Melted, but I noticed it before I stirred and fluxed the pot.
I saw some shiny domed bubbles floating on top and was able to scoop most of it out before it got blended in.