PDA

View Full Version : Any budget electric melters with stainless inner pots?

BCRider
08-31-2015, 09:55 PM
I've been using a Lyman Big Dipper for a couple of years now and for the amount and type of casting I'm doing it's proven to be just fine. But I really hate the fact that it uses a regular steel inner pot that rusts so easily. So I'm looking at some sort of upgrade to something that is still modest in price but which has a stainless inner pot to get away from the rust issue.

If I have to I guess I'll learn to deal with a bottom pour option. But after reading all the threads about leaking and dripping I really wonder if I need or want a bottom pour style. But if that'll get me into a stainless pot then fine.

Suggestions? Other options? I'm all eyes :D

bangerjim
08-31-2015, 10:00 PM
Rust? I have had 3 Lee pots for years and never any rust.

What are you melting in them and where are you storing them?

They should not rust. There is an oxide that builds up that will help minimize rusting in normal conditions.

BC may be humid, but you are not living in a swamp where clean bare steel will rust overnight! I had that problem years ago in Iowa.

Spray a bit of oil on it when cold. It will burn off next time you hear er up.

And remember, certain alloys of stainless steel WILL rust.

banger

M-Tecs
08-31-2015, 10:58 PM
Some fluxes promote rust. What are you using?

bangerjim
08-31-2015, 11:01 PM
Good point. You should be using ONLY beeswax to reduce in any casting pot.

BCRider
08-31-2015, 11:14 PM
Up until today I've not used anything to try to avoid any rust. And I've only dabbled with fluxes trying a bit of paraffin wax, some sawdust and more recently a bit of waxy saw blade lube wax. Of the lot the only one I've seen which seems to clarify the lead to any noticeable degree has been the saw blade wax stick lubricant I tried just today. Smokey as blazes though.