PDA

View Full Version : Who uses an Shooting Chrony F1 Chronograph

LAKEMASTER
08-27-2015, 10:17 PM
ive been eyeballing one of these for 3 years now... they seem to appear in a lot of pellet gun videos in youtube, they just seem really popular.

does anyone on here have one and have anything to say about them? does anything fail on them ? i see they sell parts

aspangler
08-27-2015, 10:34 PM
I have one I bought from Midway last year. It works quite well for me. So far I have not shot the rods but I have some wooden dowels on hand in case. If you don't have or make a remote you will have to write each reading down as you shoot or it will be lost. Very satisfied with mine.

LAKEMASTER
08-27-2015, 10:36 PM
i know they have that system where it prints out the results or holds a memory, id be happy with just a ball park idea.

Hannibal
08-27-2015, 10:40 PM
I bought one a couple of years ago. The only problem I've had is on sunny days the shades don't quite cover enough sometimes, but that is a common issue with thiscstyle of chronograph, or so I'm told.

The only other problem I had was knocking it over with muzzle blast. Find yourself an old camera tripod to go with it. Greatest chrono accessory ever.

Denny303
08-27-2015, 10:48 PM
have had good luck with mine, had it 10 yrs or so. simple and easy to use. no problems would recommend it.

knifemaker
08-28-2015, 01:15 AM
If you are knocking over your crony with the muzzle blast, you have the crony too close to the muzzle. Should be about 10 feet from a rifle muzzle or more if the blast is that severe. That muzzle blast can also give you a false reading on velocity if too close.

Hannibal
08-28-2015, 03:25 AM
The problem was the crappy base I was trying to use, not the distance. I read the instructions, the chrony WAS 10' away.
A $5 garage sale camera tripod fixed the problem.

Ola
08-28-2015, 04:25 AM
Hmm, how should I put it..