PDA

View Full Version : k98 score

legend
03-31-2008, 05:55 PM
a friend just GAVE me his k98,now before you all think"that lucky bastid" as you type your approvals and congrats to me,it is beat to hell and back!the top of the bbl and reciever are beaten with a ballpeen hammer or crowbar (cant tell why) maby he just didnt like 8mm k98s,or,maby he did like his nylon 66....i cant tell......

that said,i can live with that..,but,the bbl looks like a sewerpipe!
i am spooked about ever pulling the trigger its so bad.

now we all know,
i have never missed.........ever.
all my firearms shoot one hole at all ranges,and always will.
i have never made a reloading mistake.
both my ex wifes talk good about me,and want me back.
im a hell of a cook.

so,having told you a little about me,please tell me a little about how you cleaned the worse bbls YOU ever saw,and did what you did help at all?

this could be fun!
thanks
legend

Bret4207
04-01-2008, 07:59 AM
Start by soaking in something like ATF or Eds Red, scrub with 4/0 steel wool around a worn 35 cal brush, soak, repeat, etc. If that doesn't do it, find or make a "Foul Out" type cleaner. If it still looks like a sewer pipe, either rebarrel to 8mm or 35 Whelen or turn it into one of those 45 Carbine's with the Rhineland kit.

Firelapping before rebarelling is worth a shot too.

04-01-2008, 08:52 AM
Follow Bret4207's suggestions with the addition of, if needed, hand lapping. Various sized grinding compounds, ending with very fine/polishing grits, and a tight fitting cleaning jag and patch. Rub the grinding compounds into the patches and work back and forth in the barrel. If all else fails, you're lucky as rebarreling a Mauser is very easy. Do use a barrel wrench and action device lest you twist the action. Leverage is your friend. Soak in penetrating oils for a month and use heat judiciously. Find some articles on the net. Great project if you get into it.

Kraschenbirn
04-01-2008, 12:22 PM