PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with Des Moines, Iowa?

waarp8nt
08-16-2015, 06:35 PM
It appears that I may be going there next month for some training. Not quite a days drive from home and I have never been there...quad cities is as far into Iowa as I have been. Looking for extra stuff to do....Gunshops, Mom n Pop stores, tool resale stores, general places to see and/or eat? Yes, I can always google it, but it is not the same as a local persons opinion. FYI...I'm not a big drinker and strip clubs are out as I have a mighty fine Mrs. waarp8nt at home.

waksupi
08-16-2015, 07:24 PM
State museum is nice, Living History Farms, if they are still open after Labor Day.

bangerjim
08-16-2015, 07:32 PM
Iowa......a good place to be from! Born & raised there. But shoveling sunshine in AZ is sure a lot easier!

Enjoy your visit. Google is your friend.

banger

pjames32
08-16-2015, 07:41 PM
It's been 45 years since I graduated from Drake and Des Moines has grown since then. The State Capital was always a good visit. Like Banger I left the Midwest 40 years ago.
Enjoy
PJ

JeffinNZ
08-17-2015, 04:56 AM
It's the home of "The Thunderbolt Kid", Bill Bryson! Just read that book.

Harry O
08-17-2015, 11:18 AM
The best pork tenderloin sandwiches in town:

Smitty’s Tenderloin Shop
1401 Army Post Road
HOURS: 10 a.m.-9 p.m. Monday through Saturday; closed Sunday

BrentD
08-17-2015, 12:45 PM
Late in September, there will be a gunshow at the state fair grounds in DSM. Nothing great, but something to do. There is another up in Cedar Rapids as well, but that's bit of a drive from DSM.

You could bring a squirrel rifle and do some hunting on public grounds. The season opens at the beginning of the month.

Early Saturday mornings at the farmers market downtown is enjoyable. Good food to be had, some nice dogs about.

There are worse places than DSM to be stuck for a while, but not many.

Wots
08-17-2015, 04:59 PM