PDA

View Full Version : WTK: Lyman 45 w 311284 ejector rod length?

straphanger
08-13-2015, 08:00 PM
OK I am new to this machine. I am trying to set up for the 311284 bullet. I have a .310 H&I die installed and a 284 top punch. My issue is that there is very little clearance btw the top punch and the die to load the bullet due to its length. I have to tilt it slightly and start it into the die and then rotate it vertical so the nose of the bullet will clear the punch. The handle is up as far as it will go, the ejector rod is stopped against the bottom of the die at the top and against the lower bar at the bottom. The lower bar is down as far on the rods as it will go. 311284 is a relatively long bullet, but I also intend to size 457125s. I don't think they will fit...

Looks to me like I need a "shorter" ejector rod. Was there more than one length ejector rod for the Lyman 45?

If not, what am I missing!

thanks!

Beagle333
08-13-2015, 08:20 PM
Do you have a picture of your setup and issue?

edit:
From the top of my currently installed die to the face of my top punch, I have 1.80" right now.
Let's see how much room Duckiller has too.

Duckiller
08-13-2015, 08:23 PM
What is the length of your "ejector bar"? Don't need to measure with a micrometer. Something is not right. don't have your mold but long 30 cal boolits easily fit into my 450. Only use 45 for alox lube because I have both. Something doesn't sound right. gice me some dimensions and I will get my 45 down and start measuring.

MT Chambers
08-13-2015, 08:42 PM
All bullets should fit if your "plug" is set down a little ways, that bullet shouldn't have to go down much anyways.

tazman
08-13-2015, 08:51 PM
I have the exact same issue with my Lyman 45 with 30 caliber boolits for my 06. Just not enough room for a long cast boolit in there with the setup that is there now. It does pistol rounds fine but they are much shorter than rifle.

straphanger
08-15-2015, 02:42 PM