PDA

View Full Version : .357 swaged hollow base WC in a .358 cylinder chamber

porkchop
08-11-2015, 01:00 AM
I'm new to casting and I'd like to know if the swaged bullets I bought were the wrong size. A friend of mine said I should buy swaged hollow based wadcutters because they are more accurate than my cast wad cutters.
So I bought them from a company that sells a lot to the bullseye shooters which I do enjoy. The problem is leading in the cylinder, forcing cone , and first 1" or so of my barrel. I talked to the bullet company owner and he said the bullets are .357" and worked fine for other shooters. I have a sw 686 4" barrel all chambers are sized to .358" and I have a 11 degree forcing cone cut in it. To me a good lead bullet set up.
I normally shot 3 grains of BE with cast wc and they work good. I don't think those swaged wc are expanding enough, should they have been .358" or something. Is there anything I can do to make them bigger. I measured them with a dial caliper and my micrometer and they are .357"
I was using .38 special cases and also tried .357 cases with 3.3 grains BE with the same results.
I love this forum, and thanks for any help,
Stan

Gofaaast
08-11-2015, 01:29 AM
Try a little heavier crimp if you haven't already with 2.8 grains of BE in 38 special brass.

Outpost75
08-11-2015, 11:18 AM
Shooting hollowbased wadcutters loaded in .357 chambered revolvers is NOT a good idea, because, depending upon bullet hardness and cavity geometry of the base, the skirt will inflate while the bullet is transitioning the unsupported gap between the case mouth and the ball seat of the .357 chamber.

When I was at FBI National Academy back in the 1980s, I personally observed dozens of instances where trainees doing so managed to score 80 hits on a 60-shot tactical revolver course! Yes, the bullets were coming apart!

No the guns weren't hurt, but the cylinders were sure leaded up.