PDA

View Full Version : Lucky 7 lube

igolfat8
08-09-2015, 10:46 AM
I have been experimenting with lube recipes for a few years and have not really settled on a formula that I am 100% pleased with. When I got into casting my own pistol boolits I had a heck of a time totally eliminating lead until now. Last season I went back and forth between Mike's 6-6-6-1, Lithi-bee variants and Felix lubes. Mike's worked pretty well except for leading in the first half inch of [my] barrels. Felix worked about the same and was just a pain to cook up. Both lubes left a lot of wax build up around my breach faces and extractors. I tried tumble lubes as well but they were the worst (for me) for leading.

FWIW, I shoot 12-ish Brinell lead out of mostly .40 S&W with a few .45 pills and 9's mingled in just for fun. I shoot about 16K rounds annually of .40s alone but far less .45s and 9's. Keep in mind that I only shoot lead in pistols and have no experience with rifle lead projectiles.

Just a bit of background info on me; I work for a Fortune 100 company in the role of Maintenance Reliability Engineer. I manage the Predictive Maintenance organization, Oil Lab Wear Particle Analysis program and the Maintenance Oiler personnel and have spent 38 years in the Maintenance organization. I am NOT a chemist but do have some light background in Tribology.