PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ditching .22 for CF

Anschutz
08-01-2015, 10:09 PM
The last time I bought .22 ammo was probably in in highschool and I graduated college last December. I had the priviledge of getting recruited for the rifle team and that meant Eley Red box for practice and matches. I shot a lot and I also ended up with a decent amount of partial boxes. I probably have about 1000-1500 stashed away but I know that won't last forever and eventually I'll have to buy more .22 ammo in the future. The first 22 ammo I bought was a Remington HP bulk box of 550 in 2002 or 2003 and I think I paid something like $8.00 for it when I bought my .22 rifle. Now that same box of ammo is pushing up close to 25-30. In my sophomore year of highschool, my dad bought me a case of Eley Red Box and paid $1400 for 5000 and said he'd beat me senseless if I used it for anything but matches. I used Eley Sport (Aweful) for practice at $2-300 per case. Now Red Box is up around 2k and practice ammo is around 400 a case. The cheapest I saw on Midway today in stock for .22 LR was .14 per round. I can load 9mm for 10-12c per round and I don't cast yet. Anyone ditching the .22 for now in favor of a low consumption centerfire?

GRUMPA
08-01-2015, 10:35 PM
I did that a while ago, like 3yrs ago if I remember right. I had a 10/22 and it was sold with 6.3K rounds of 22RF ammo. Me being the tight wad I am figured what it cost to roll my own. Yes I cast for what I own but I use........J-Words in the higher power rifles.

I'm just not the type to be all that conservative when it came to 22 ammo. I used it a lot here on the ranch, and if I wanted to can go through it rather fast taking out the problem critters. Casting gives a person a few things like independence and the sense of producing something better than what comes out of a factory box assembled by who knows what.