PDA

View Full Version : Trying to figure it out

mustanggt
07-28-2015, 12:13 PM
I've been shooting greasers for about 6 years in two CSA 1874 rifles, a 45/70 and 50/90. Ive had to contend with some verticle stringing over this whole time but finally it dawned on me that my hold off the bench has not been consistent at all. Sunday I really bared down on my techniqe and was rewarded with groups starting to round out. Am I on the right path? My loads are 75gr of 3f Swiss or Kik, 30 hdpe wad and Seaco 745 bullet or Creedmoor design of around 525grs. Big 50 has been 100-115gr of 1f Kik and a 625gr Creedmoor and 30 hdpe wad. Thank you.

Gunlaker
07-28-2015, 02:27 PM
I think working on holding is one of the most important things you can do. My shooting has improved a lot in the last two years when I slowed down the load development and worked on prone shooting technique instead. I only very rarely shoot from positions other than prone nowadays.

I can take my best loads and make them into poor loads with just a little inconsistency in form. I think it takes years to develop really good technique and make it second nature.. At least it is for me ( or maybe I'm a slow learner ) as I continue to find little ways to improve. :-)

Chris.

mustanggt
07-28-2015, 03:44 PM
Thank you Chris. It was quite the epiphany for me to suddenly realize this.

freedom475
07-28-2015, 06:02 PM
2 of the biggest improvements that I ever made to my shooting BPCR:

1...Keep your free hand off the forend stock!! Instead cradle the buttstock near the buttplate with it...Pretty common knowledge, but I still see a lot of folks holding the forend. And that fella that hurt his hand this June would sure be a lot better off if he would have been following this rule when his rifle blew-up.

2...Stop re-sizing cases! Annealing made a big difference, but to stop sizing all-together, totally removes a variable from the loads...Cannot believe how much this improves and simplifies things for me and my loading.