PDA

View Full Version : First Time Smelt

45coltnut
07-19-2015, 01:38 PM
Hello friends and fellow shooters,

Well, today was a first for me. While I've been casting my own boolits for a couple years now, I had never smelted any lead....till today.

I had a stash of wheel weights from some local buys and give always. I'd been meaning to do this for sometime, but always procrastinated it due to never doing it before. So, I bit the boolit (pun intended) [emoji51]

After some last minute study on melting points of zinc, I place my lead thermometer in the lead pot and fires that baby up. You can tell from the lead ingot pics which ones came from the cold mold [emoji43]. I should have used my head a little more and filled the same principles as I do during my casting sessions. But, I guess my mind was on so many other factors with safety and that huge pot o lead!

Overall, I'm very happy! First time out and I've now added ~68lbs of lead to my stash.

Here's some pics of my setup and end product.

BTW......it was freaking HOT in west Ky this morning.

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/19/9fafc964da1d9e6fac2e502b8580bc5e.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/19/a3d47da9ced2c0f130796efaca3f93ee.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/19/af2bbd2037306551765dd2bc4203cbc6.jpg

chsparkman
07-19-2015, 01:53 PM
Very nice! I like your setup. Sure is fun, isn't it?

45coltnut
07-19-2015, 01:55 PM
Yep, sure is. I can already see that I need about 3 more ingot molds [emoji3]. I don't like having to wait so long for cool done. Hence the fan in the pic.

BTW, I was under a canopy as well to help from the brutal sun [emoji91]

lightman
07-19-2015, 01:55 PM
Nice Job! Looks like you figured it out pretty well. I just posted a thread about it being so hot that I wimped out on my planned afternoon smelt! You have a nice comfortable looking set-up and a nice pile of ingots to show for your sweat.

lightman
07-19-2015, 02:03 PM