PDA

View Full Version : Pedersoli Creedmore #2 and Malcolm Scope

knewmans
07-18-2015, 02:30 PM
Hi
I have the possibility of buying a secondhand Pedersoli Creedmore #2 and 6x Malcolm Scope. This would be my first rifle of this type for target shooting probably to 600yds and potentially 1000yds. I'm currently intending to use smokeless.

http://tinyurl.com/qhrotqc

As far as I know its all standard pedersoli equipment. I know the sights may need changing at some point but my intention would be to keep it as is at least I have some experience with the rifle and cast boolits.

I'm looking for opinions and any pointers on what to look for when buying.

Thanks
Ken

rfd
07-18-2015, 03:17 PM
hi ken

i've had three pedersoli's and still have and shoot and love their bodine rolling block in .45-70. it has excellent craftsmanship and the match grade barrel and broach rifling are second to none.

with the sharps creedmoor yer looking at, is it of recent (within a few years) build? if you absolutely must use smokeless, i'd check to see if it can handle that heathen white stuff as some pedersoli's (i think those larger than .45-70) are black powder only. it should be stamped so somewhere in the barrel, probably under the fore stock. you could also take down its serial number and query pedersoli via email - they're pretty responsive about answer customer questions.

if it comes with the pedersoli tang and globe - imho though they're serviceable, what's missing is a hadley eye cup, a soule windage, and a front globe spirit level, all of which i believe is required to make the rifle truly competitive. but if yer just gonna use the scope, none of that will matter.

i would also strongly urge you to consider only shooting black powder.

bpcr is a great sport to join and enjoy!

knewmans
07-18-2015, 03:21 PM
Thanks rfd.

I'm not ruling out back powder but small steps initially. It already feels like a big jump from .223 and 6.5x47.

rfd
07-18-2015, 03:38 PM
Thanks rfd.