PDA

View Full Version : Casting pure lead bullets for light rifle loads

njc110381
07-15-2015, 05:25 PM
Evening all. I'm new to this and have just ordered myself some basic casting kit to try to learn with. So far I have a Lee bottom pour pot and a 405gr Lee two cavity non gas check mould.

I also have a 50lb pile of flashing lead from the roof of my house. We're extending the property so I thought I'd keep hold of it in case I can use it.

The rifle I'm going to be casting for is a .45-70 Marlin of some kind. Looks like a guide gun but I haven't actually picked it up yet to be sure. Can I use pure lead in this gun? I'll only be playing with it at the range so am thinking it should be ok if I select my loads carefully and keep the pressure low?

I'm sure you must hear this question a lot but a quick search of the site didn't reveal anything obvious. I'd be very grateful of a little help.

Cowboy_Dan
07-15-2015, 05:59 PM
If you can get a hold of some tin or pewter you could mix up some 20:1 which should definately work with light loads. I don't shoot .45-70, but I think pure would work best with black powder. You might be able to paper patch pure for smokeless.

bangerjim
07-15-2015, 06:00 PM
You still need Sn for mold fill-out. And be sure to stock up on copper chore boys and lead-remover chemicals if shooting pure!

Hard lead is not that expensive. Buy some to harden your soft a bit and enjoy shooting rather than mining lead out of your rifle barrel. Even COWW's will help.

Outpost75
07-15-2015, 07:17 PM