PDA

View Full Version : 1888 Springfield Trapdoor in 45-70 caliber

KenH
07-13-2015, 05:55 PM
Hello all - I just purchased an 1884 (edit to correct) Springfield Trapdoor in 45-70 caliber. It seems to be in solid condition, but I do have a question about the bore/rifling. Looking down the muzzle end of bore with light shining in via trapdoor, the bore is shiny with only a few spots showing. The rifling sure looks VERY shallow.

I slugged the barrel and find there are wide rifling lands which are very shallow.... maybe only 1 or 2 thousandths deep? Maybe more - hard to measure. The rifling lands are odd placed so there is no way to measure bore or groove with just a caliper or mic. One side is down in groove while other side is up on top.

Anyway - on these old trapdoors - just how deep is normal for the riflings? I have no experience to speak of with old guns. I've got a Rolling Block 43 Spanish and it has much deeper riflings.

Thanks to all for comments and suggestions,

Ken H>

varsity07840
07-14-2015, 08:44 AM
Trapdoors are notorious for inconsistent bore/ groove dimensions. They're usually oversize rather than undersize. My '88 has a .4512 bore and .4638 groove. The groove depth is .0063. Your slug has to be measured with a v-anvil micrometer in order to get accurate measurements.
The gentleman who was kind enough to measure my slug is a visitor to this site. Put out a shout to TexasMac.
Duane

NSB
07-14-2015, 08:54 AM
TexasMac <texasmac@sbcglobal.net> Probably one of the nicest gentleman you'll ever meet on any site. He never hesitates to help if he can.

Piedmont
07-14-2015, 09:29 AM
Trapdoors have very deep rifling. I would start cleaning the heck out that bore.

Chill Wills
07-14-2015, 09:56 AM
KenH - I can't answer your question about your rifle barrel (obviously) but I have had any number of these Springfields and as model/class, they are real accurate shooters.