PDA

View Full Version : 45acp 9mm can't find load data

Saxmann10
07-13-2015, 02:14 PM
If you can't find load data for a specific weight bullet.Is the next higher weight ok or do you go lower and what do you start at. I just noticed on some of cast bullets molds, the Load data is not listed anywhere.I know you start lower but don't want to have dangerous rounds.I am still learning . A ground at the range had a reload blow the mag out on his 1911 45. He said it was either a bad case ,undercharge,overcharge or the bullet set back from bad crimp. Just don't want this to happen thanks

Der Gebirgsjager
07-13-2015, 05:02 PM
In my experience it is generally o.k. to use the recommended charge for a heavier bullet for a lighter bullet, as the heavier bullet uses less powder. Never start with maximum loads.

fredj338
07-13-2015, 06:10 PM
IT's almost impossible to get into trouble using heavier bullet data with a lighter bullet. The on exception might be using really slow powders with lighter bullets & lower charge wts.

bangerjim
07-13-2015, 06:50 PM
Heavier boolits = lighter powder loads, so you can use that data for the next lighter boolit. Generally. USE MIN LISTINGS! And work from there.

banger

Seeker
07-13-2015, 07:36 PM
Slow burning powders like H110/W296 do not work with below start start with heavy boolits.

paul edward
07-13-2015, 08:00 PM
Slow burning powders are not the best choice for 9mm and .45 ACP. Stick to powders with burn rates between Bullseye on the fast side and Unique on the slow side.

What kinds of bullets are you hoping to use and what powders do you have?

RobS
07-14-2015, 10:23 AM
Considering you are working with 9mm/45 ACP and the powders commonly associated you would likely be ok using the load data for the next heavier bullet that is 10 or so grains heavier.

Knowing a bit more regards to what you are doing would give us insight to better help you.

Bzcraig
07-14-2015, 10:47 AM