PDA

View Full Version : expanding brass for lead boolit..with a twist.

hpdrifter
07-05-2015, 09:57 PM
I've been reloading for a few years and I've reloaded some pistol ammo with lead boolits, but i'm really a neophyte in the land of galena.

I read "expanding brass for lead bullets" by willoughbe and the responses.

I recently had a Winchester AE bored by JES to 38-55. Wasn't too elated at the results, but I'm coming around. It seems to shoot just fine, with the few rounds I have thru it.

I did some of the measuring mentioned in the above stated thread. Here are the parameters of the question:

I have 2.125" Starline brass. I sized the new cases and they were .390 before boolit insertion. Inserted .376 boolits of some unknown hardness; bought from local gunshop. Upon insertion the case at the boolit measured .392 with a ridge around base of boolit in case. After firing the casing measures .395 and the same lead boolit(fresh one) will not enter into the casing. A .375 jacketed bullet will enter, with a little coaxing.

I'm thinking about just flaring a fired case, unsized, and loading it to see if it will chamber alright. The case will fit sans boolit. Some Winchester brass that loaded measured about the same as the Starline, although I didn't measure one that was loaded. The boolit still doesn't enter the Winchester.

Can this practice be used for lever action rifles? Will I run into problems of chambering without resizing? Seems like the case is already about the right size.

I'm pretty sure the boolit got sized during the loading process, but I saw hardly any signs of leading after about 10 shots. Just specs came out upon cleaning and they were very few.

By the way, JES says the bore is .375. I have not slugged it. Not worried about the boolit fit at this particular moment. Just trying to get the brass correct.

Here's a target from today; 50 yards off my hind legs over a tree branch with peep sights: