View Full Version : Paper Patch Boollits in 8mm

oadad
03-24-2008, 04:25 PM
I have 2 24/47's that measure 323 when slugged, I use a Lee 175gr boolit and size them to 325. I tried paper patch using transparent paper rapped twice the diameter. When I measure again I read 330 inch (paper and boolit). Is this to big to shoot safely?? At 1700-1800fps, maybe 2000fps or even 2400-2600fps. I'm trying to develop a replacement for J-boolits and heard paper patch will get me there. I get very good results without the paper patch at .325 inch using gas check and 860, 5010 or H4895 powder. :confused:

bcp477
03-24-2008, 05:01 PM
Check the paper-patching forum, here on this site. There is some good information there. I am dealing with the same thing right now (working on paper-patched loads for the 8 x 57). I am not experienced enough to say that .330" is too large to work, or be safe. However, a rule of thumb of which I have heard alot is that most rifles like PP bullets BEST when sized so that they are approximately at groove diameter, plus or minus a bit. This would mean about .322" to .324". I am testing several possibilities myself, including from about .326".....down to .323" (varying based on paper thickness). I have not had the chance to do any shooting lately, so I cannot provide any direct guidance (I have a number of cartridges, of several different loads, ready.... and I may have a chance to test them this week....so maybe I'll have some results by then). What I am doing now is sizing my bullets to .314"....then wrapping them twice with paper approx. 0.0020" thick (ordinary lined notebook paper)...to get a total wet diameter of about .325". When dry, these bullets lose about 0.001"....for a final diameter of just about .324". I do not know if these will prove to be the BEST final dimension....but I have a feeling that they will. After the wrapped bullets dry, I lube the paper with Lee Liquid Alox.