PDA

View Full Version : how much do you loose?

Indiana shooter
06-29-2015, 03:55 AM
Can I take an unknown alloy such as range scrap and turn it into pure lead? I know if you melt down the lead and and skim off the surface crud, without adding paraffin wax or beeswax, you will remove some of the tin and antimony. The question I have is how much do you loose?

I'm not asking this as a way of reliably making pure lead but more from a curiosity standpoint.

leebuilder
06-29-2015, 05:41 AM
I dont loose much alloy type slag. The dirt /crud can vary. Roof lead comes out very clean, range scrap can be the dirtiest next to WW.
I am no expert, the dirt and crud has a bit of fluxing properties, heat has alot to do with it too.
Wood shavings and saw dust cleans it up just fine.
The cleaner the smelt, cleaner the alloy.
There was a thread on removing zinc with sulfer, i have done this it works quite well, i left very clean lead, near pure i figure, the fumes were brutal.
Does this help?
Be safe

Indiana shooter
06-29-2015, 07:13 AM
Does this help?

Yes.

I suppose if the crud would act as a flux then the majority of the tin and antimony would remain with the lead.

Like I said, this question is purely for educational purposes. It is merely to see if it is possible to get near pure lead if you didn't flux before skimming off the top. Even if it takes 3 or 4 different times.

white eagle
06-29-2015, 08:55 AM
I don't think its possible to completely remove a alloy from your batch
you would have to know the exact composition to start
probably just end up diluting the original but the original mix would still be there
just my take on it

Yodogsandman
06-29-2015, 10:04 AM