PDA

View Full Version : How often do you detail strip the slide?

Schrag4
06-28-2015, 02:23 PM
I have a Ruger SR9c that I shoot quite a bit. After I started shooting IDPA, I removed the magazine disconnect because you're required to drop the hammer/striker before holstering, and dry firing is a bad idea with the magazine disconnect in place. I noticed it was pretty dirty in the firing pin channel, and I cleaned it out as best I could.

That was a couple of years ago, and for giggles I decided to clean it out again yesterday. It was VERY dirty, and I suspect that's in part because there's room for grit to get in where the magazine disconnect used to be. I think I only average about 200 rounds a month through the gun. Some months I shoot a lot more (probably about double already this month) but some months I don't shoot at all.

So how often should I make it a point to remove the back-plate and clean out the firing pin and channel? More often that every 2 years? It was still working fine before I cleaned it, but this gun gets used for play as well as for nightstand duty. Thoughts?

brtelec
06-28-2015, 02:46 PM
Well, I detail strip my semi-autos every time I shoot them now. I, however, happen to be one of those sick ******** that likes cleaning my firearms. Typically when I shoot my semi-autos I will put 200 to 300 rounds through it per day.

jonp
06-28-2015, 03:10 PM
Detail maybe once a year. I read once that Rob Leatham cleaned his gun once a season. Im p retty sure I put far less rounds downrange than he does

Bzcraig
06-28-2015, 08:14 PM
Only when I'm in the mood, that's not very often!

Vann
06-28-2015, 08:31 PM
I clean them good everytime I shoot. Once a year I do a detailed cleaning, unless I'm changing parts then I'll do a full breakdown.

junkpile
06-29-2015, 12:06 AM
Depends on the gun. For my 1911, not very often, but for my wife's 22, every 50 rounds or less.