PDA

View Full Version : Reloading for seecamp .380

Andy
06-24-2015, 09:16 AM
I am new to reloading this year and am interested in reloading for my .380 seecamp. Two important considerations with this gun are that it can be very finicky with ammo (bullet nose shape and OAL of cartridge), and it uses what I think is called a "retarded blowback action," not sure if I got the term right but it effectively has an off center gouge milled into the chamber so that the case expands into that and slows the recoil of the slide during extraction.

I have already loaded some hornady 90 grain ftx loads with new brass that worked flawlessly so that was a promising start. Right now all I have left is once-fired brass though and my main reason for writing this post is that I am concerned about reloading with the now bulged cases. Is it unwise to reload this brass due to the significant deformation it goes through in being fired from this type of gun? When I resize it you can still somewhat see an outline of where the bulge was.

What do you guys think? Ok to reload normally, ok to reload it but only use with low power plinking loads and retire the brass after a small number of loadings, or don't re-use this brass at all?

rintinglen
06-24-2015, 12:59 PM
My only experience with the Seecamp is with the 32, so I can't truly speak with experience, but given the comparatively low pressure of the 380 cartridge, I would be inclined to think that the bulge would not preclude reloading. If you could post a picture, it might help to make a more definitive answer.

If Seecamp would put a sight of some sort on their guns I might own one, but probably not. I don't have huge hands, but those guns are at the very bottom of the size that I can shoot. I have an LCP that is a smidge larger, but is much easier for me to shoot.

FergusonTO35
06-26-2015, 05:18 PM