PDA

View Full Version : New Ruger AR556 !

W.R.Buchanan
06-19-2015, 05:13 PM
http://www.ruger.com/products/ar556/models.html

I just saw this in my new AR that came today.

This is a basic AR that IMHO is set up perfect for a Basic Rifle to build on or just fine the way it is. It already has all the proper features you are looking for on an AR. IE: A Good Barrel, 7075 Aluminum Receivers, Good Basic Sights, Forward Assist, and brass deflector and is essentially ready to take on the world right out of the box.

I personally would add a Magpul Stock and Fore End and a Red Dot Optic and a Sling and be good to go. That's just me. This is very close to how I have My Bushmaster Carbon 15 set up except I have more like $1000 in it.

It has a hammer forged 1:8 twist barrel and comes with a Magpul magazine.

The MSRP on this gun is $749 which means the street price should be $550 to $650.

Guys,,, This is a lot of bang for your AR buck! And you could do a lot worse and spend a whole lot more doing it. Lots of value here and anyone wanting an AR but not wanting to dive in too deep but still wanting a good serviceable rifle in case of a TEOTWAWKI or SHTF situation should have a look at this one.

Randy

osteodoc08
06-19-2015, 08:59 PM
Best part is, it comes with a warranty! And Ruger's CS should the need ever arise.

lefty o
06-19-2015, 11:57 PM
the ruger ar's are decent, they do need a trigger.

W.R.Buchanan
06-20-2015, 11:21 AM
Lefty: I just did a Trigger job on my Bushmaster which had a 9 lb trigger out of the box. It took 20 minutes to stone the fine grind marks off the sear and hammer step and I put a set of JP springs I got from Brownells for $12. Result 4 lb trigger... I also included a dab of molydisulfide grease which did more to improve things than the stoning did.

My point is just by changing the springs and greasing it I would have ended up with good result.