PDA

View Full Version : Validity of "Power Index Rating?"

Naphtali
06-18-2015, 10:54 PM
In Handloader's Digest: Tenth Edition is an article by Ed Matunas, "Loading for maximum PIR" (Power Index Rating) - this being a formula whose calculation is claimed to be an accurate method to identify defensive capability of handgun ammunition. My rule of thumb for my own evaluation is: There's no substitute for cubic inches. I have zero experience with actual need to test my own evaluation, nor have I previously paid any attention to any calculation similar to what PIR claims to do.

Those who have tested such formulae in the real world - I expect there to be very few in this forum - are such things accurate representations of bullet-ammunition "stopping power?"

tygar
06-18-2015, 11:07 PM
45s & 308s sure killed better than all the other stuff out there when I was in VN.

44man
06-19-2015, 09:34 AM
I stay away from formulas and depend on results only. The .45 ACP can't be beat for defense but some of the 40's are good. The .357 is a known stopper but the nine just has penetration.
Since I deer hunt only I see truth and figures just plain suck. ME figures are not where it is, it is always what the bullet/boolit choice does.

Blackwater
06-19-2015, 09:44 AM