PDA

View Full Version : titewad for mousefart loads?

clearcut
06-15-2015, 04:55 PM
Like the title says is any one using titewad for mouse fart loads?I want to load some low power loads for my 30-06 ,150 gr., rnfp, h2o dropped ww, PC'd gc'd. Where do I start or how low can I go is it position sensitive?

Thanks CC

fecmech
06-15-2015, 07:57 PM
I have no experience with tightwad but have used bullseye, also a very fast powder in my 30-30 with 150 gr. bullets. In the 30-30, 6 grs. of BE gives me 1200 fps and 7 grs about 1300. It is not position sensitive. My WAG is that 6 grs of tightwad would get a 150 gr cast out of the barrel in your 06 without sticking it. You could then work down or up as you desired. good luck

Ps. I don't use GC's on these loads.

runfiverun
06-16-2015, 11:56 AM
I'd look at bulls-eye or red-dot data and start from there.
you are looking for something slow and low pressure.
a powder designed for light target shot-shell loads will burn well in those circumstances.

GhostHawk
06-16-2015, 01:39 PM
While I have shot some titewad in .45 acp at around 3 gr below a .230 cast bullet I do mostly shoot Red Dot.

I think the titewad is not as near forgiving. You can get away with a lot with Red Dot. What you can't get away with is a full double charge. So proper procedures are IMO a must.

I have shot .300BO as low as 4 grains of Red Dot under a 150 grain bullet with fair accuracy.
.223 I have some loads with Jwords of 55 grain that do just fine at 100 y with 7 to 7.5 grains. I recently loaded 50 with the Bator Boolit but have not made it to the range to test those yet.

I have shot some rifle with 13 grains of Red Dot aka Ed Harris "the load" but I don't consider those mouse fart loads.
They will kill, and do it fairly quietly with reduced recoil.

Last Runfive and I have talked about some of these loads before, especially the .300BO. How can I say this. "He knows of what he speaks". His "guess's" are good enough to take to the bank.

rhouser