PDA

View Full Version : Newbie casting questions:

Quickdraw4u
06-11-2015, 08:58 PM
Lots of great info here! My questions are after I am done casting do I have to empty the pot completely or can I leave some lead in it for next time? I am going to use an RCBS Pro Melt bottom pour. How close to the pour valve do I want my mould when casting? Thanks, any advice is appreciated.

rancher1913
06-11-2015, 09:21 PM
look under your login, should say "welcome quickdraw4u" , now look down to the white box that says "google custom search" in it. type in your question and you will find most of your questions have already been answered multiple times. using this feature will make you fit in around here with out ruffling the feathers of the elders. to answer your question, no you do not have to empty your pot but if your going to change alloys it would be helpfull to empty it. I am a total newbe around here so don't just listen to me, but I have been holding the mold about an inch or so below the valve, enough that I can see whats going on with the pour.

exdxgxe4life
06-11-2015, 09:24 PM
I'm far from an expert but I'm not a newb either. I've always been told to leave at least an inch in the pot. Lately I've thrown in a couple of ingots in the pot when I'm done to keep the pot about half full. I could be wrong, but I think it's most beneficial to do so, so when you fire up the pot again, the lead in the pot get's heated a lot fast than if you threw in a bunch of ingots or wheel weights.

As far as how far to keep the mold, I don't think it really matters. The lead isn't going to harden in the few inches it drops. Whatever is comfortable for you and your set up. I know I need to probably raise mine, because my neck can get stiff at times from always craning over to see how I'm pouring.

rancher1913
06-11-2015, 09:25 PM
just for grins I type in "should I empty pot after pour" and got like 10 pages of posts, some relevant some not but at least you have a starting point.

bangerjim