PDA

View Full Version : Learning to make swage dies question.

lead chucker
06-07-2015, 05:42 PM
Hi. I have been busy making swage dies. I have zero experience with a lathe up till the last three weeks. I will post pics when I get a chance. Now the question is on a 308 bullet how much lenth of the base of the bullet needs to be .308. Right now I can't seat the bullets very deep in the case and still be just off the lands of the barrel. It took me a lot of polishing to get to .308. And in a blind hole it's hard to focus on one spot to Lap without makeing every thing bigger.

aaronraad
06-08-2015, 10:05 PM
Now the question is on a 308 bullet how much lenth of the base of the bullet needs to be .308.

I'll assume you are talking about the projectile shank where the projectile's diameter approximates the nominal calibre? The shank is typically assumed to be parallel, but in practice the shank can taper in both direction, include grooves, driving bands, gas checks, sabot etc.

The shank is designed primarily for accurate alignment and gas sealing purposes within a loaded cartridge and the nominal bore/groove dimensions of a barrel. An under-diameter shank projectile may still get down the bore just as long as it seals enough as it bounces along for pressure to build. At the extreme a projectile may be so under-diameter that it's meplat and base will engage the rifling and form a seal (for a period time) instead of the more ideal shank diameter.