PDA

View Full Version : Reaming .32 ACP Case

beeser
06-04-2015, 07:39 PM
I'm fairly convinced that my problem loading .32 ACP lead cast bullets has to do with the brass cases being used. The bullets are .314 in diameter and the cases have an ID of .306. The cases are S&W head stamped but I believe are actually made by Fiocchi and have a thicker wall than many others. I think the bullet is being swagged down when it is pressed into the much smaller case. What I plan to do is use a Forster Power Case Trimmer with a 308 (.311 diameter) reamer to open up the case ID. I'm new to all of this so any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Outpost75
06-04-2015, 09:03 PM
That is one solution, but there is no need to use .314" bullets in a .32 ACP. Correct bullet diameter is .309-.311" depending on the pistol. It is better to use a bullet with a short shank and appropriate head length which is designed for the .32 ACP. This is necessary so that the seating depth does not exceed that of factory FMJ rounds, thereby avoiding impingement of the bullet base against the case body taper where it begins to thicken.

I use the Accurate 31-087T bullet sized to .311" in either W-W, RWS, Geco or Fiocchi brass for use in my Walther PP, Colt M1903 Pocket Hammerless, Beretta 3032 Tomcat and CZ27, using 2 grains of Bullseye, seated to an overall cartridge length of 0.955-0.970", the load is accurate, hits hard, penetrates like the Buffalo bore and runs like a pony trotting. The expander plug in my RCBS die set is .308"

JWFilips
06-04-2015, 09:05 PM
This is just my 2 cents: I have loaded a lot of 32 acp for many old guns from 1914 mausers , 1942 MAB's, Feg's Ortgies etc right to my Modern Jennings Light carry arm All in my 32 acp collection.