PDA

View Full Version : Case Annealing - Please edjamacate me...

Jim_P
05-31-2015, 06:36 PM
OK. I've been rolling my own for over 20 years. Mainly pistol and 7 MM Rem Mag. What's the reason to anneal the case necks and when is it necessary?

Reason I'm asking is with my new .308, I've noticed the brass I got from Harnady was just brass, but the cases from Lapua are neck annealed (can tell by the discoloration). Should I be annealing all my case necks?

Thanks

Hickory
05-31-2015, 06:44 PM
Every third or fourth time is my schedule for annealing.
I have 44 mag brass from 1972 that's been loaded at least 30 times, (light loads) out of a 50 round box, I still have about half.

country gent
05-31-2015, 08:29 PM
Anealing brass cases reduces removes hardness and sprinyness from the brass. it helps to keep it from cracking. Some factory brass shows the annealing ( Lapua, sometimes winchester and remington, Lake City and military cases normally have a very distinct color showing), some has had it polished to the point the anneal no longer shows. It is a simple operation to do the big thing is not to anneal the case head at the same time. Most use a tourch to quickly heat the neck shoulder to dull red or better still catch the blue color change and either set aside to air cool or water quench. A deepwell socket of appropriate size to loosly hold the case works good to slowly spin it in the flame of a propane torch. Watching for the color changes. I perfer to water quench as it helps stop heat from getting to case heads.

GhostHawk
05-31-2015, 09:03 PM
I recently annealed 10 .303 british cases to fireform into brass .410 shells. I just left the primers in and used my lead pot.

I did give each case a touch of wood butter (Olive Oil, coconut oil and beeswax in roughly equal amounts)