PDA

View Full Version : Tough one today!

SciFiJim
05-25-2015, 12:10 PM
Today I have to tell my daughter goodbye. She leaves for Navy boot camp tomorrow morning. Any other day of the year would be hard enough, but doing so on Memorial Day just adds to the burden.

She is 22 but is NOT ready for military life. She will always be my little girl and I want to keep her wrapped on bubble wrap but I have not been able to deter her. I am a Navy vet myself and understand and respect those that have and do serve.

Call me sexist, but if it was my son, I would be more comfortable with it. She wants a change and a new start in her life, but has no idea just how huge the leap to military life is.

What ever happens though, I will tell her I love her and am proud of her, because I am. It is just hard on a Dad's heart.

Artful
05-25-2015, 12:20 PM
Congratulations to her, and our collective heart goes out to you.

Hickory
05-25-2015, 01:17 PM
Never underestimate the will, strength, and determination of a woman.
She just might have the right stuff.

popper
05-25-2015, 01:37 PM
Always hard on the parents. Part of growing up.

JSnover
05-25-2015, 01:50 PM
A lot of us weren't ready but when we realized it was time to sink or swim we found a way to keep our heads above the surface.

FISH4BUGS
05-25-2015, 02:14 PM
You daughter will do just fine....probably better than you realize. Time to cut that cord.....just stay in touch via email, Skype or something else.

Love Life
05-25-2015, 04:38 PM
Congrats to her!!!

jonp
05-25-2015, 04:50 PM
Congrats for you and your daughter. Ours was 26 when decided to make something of her life and joined the Army.

However, despite my and her bio fathers best efforts we cant gether to Ft. Benning!

smoked turkey
05-25-2015, 09:58 PM