PDA

View Full Version : Cool old lyman 310 dies/press

jugulater
05-23-2015, 11:03 AM
i was making my usual rounds yesterday, looking at all the new inventory at my local gunshops and pawnshops when i made a awesome find at my favorite shop to do business at. theres was a little brown box sitting on the bottom shelf of the reloading section, when i pulled it out i found, much to my surprise a dusty collection of 310 dies, a Tru-Line Jr. press, and a set of 310 tongs. what surprised me even more is the shop owner had assumed they would never sell and offered my the whole box for 75 OTD, i quickly paid him and ran out the door. This is my first time messing with the lyman 310 stuff and it may be a start to a really expensive addiction.

just thought that you fellows would enjoy seeing some of this older stuff cleaned up and preserved for another generation

ascast
05-23-2015, 11:16 AM
you really should have left that stuff there. they multiply fast than maggots in the hot sun.

jugulater
05-23-2015, 11:22 AM
im already getting the urge to buy more... its all a downward spiral from here. lol

ascast
05-23-2015, 11:46 AM
a couple of those set look like big rifle I can help you figure it out

Dframe
05-23-2015, 11:49 AM
What a great find! A little cleaning and some orange paint and you'll be off and running.

jugulater
05-23-2015, 11:59 AM
i figured out the dies. i did some research and found a chart that matched the numbers on the dies to calibers, i have ;
- seater and sizer/decapper for .303 British
- seater and sizer/decapper for .250-3000 sav
- seater and sizer/decapper (missing decapping assembly) for .222 rem
- full five die set for 30/06
- a .303 Sav seating die

some of the little screws for the lock rings are gone and all but one set are missing the little decapping pins. the little press is all there and cleaned up good, although im not sure if i want to repaint it.

Char-Gar
05-23-2015, 12:52 PM