PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for the Pedersoli Quigley Sharps

Cactus5479
05-07-2015, 10:20 AM
I am new to single shot rifles but have been fascinated for years. I just bought a Pedersoli Quigley Sharps (I know, influenced by the movie) in .45-70. I would like to shoot cast bullet loads to start, but I find ammo manufacturers offerings running from .457 to .459 diameter and BHN of 12 to 22. I will eventually cast and load my own, and will be back for more advice, but I could sure use some good info now.

Bohica793
05-07-2015, 11:06 AM
Slug the barrel to determine optimum diameter. For me, 12-14BHN works wonderfully but I only shoot at Trapdoor load levels.

NSB
05-07-2015, 11:28 AM
The Pedersoli Quigley Sharps is what got me started on shooting these habit forming guns. I went to a three gun shoot at Hollidaysburg, Pa, and one of the "evil" members lured me in by letting me shoot his at a 18"x18" gong at 250 measured yards....off hand. I hit it five times in a row and the hook was set. I've owned three Pedersoli Sharps since then and they all shot very, very well. They also had the same bore diameter. Pedersoli makes some of the best quality barrels to be had at any price. If you get .459" 405g Oregon Trail bullets to try in your gun they will shoot very well. On the days where I could see the sights well enough, I've shot some five shot groups right around an inch and one time shot a group into .75". This was with 2400 powder. A very soft load but very accurate. These bullets are easy to get and very affordable. If you load bullets now, I'll send you some to try if you'll simply pay the postage. I'm sitting on quite a lot of cast and jacketed bullets for my 45-70s at this time. I can spare a couple.

Cactus5479
05-07-2015, 02:11 PM
NSB,

Many thanks! I will take you up on the offer. I just got a set of RCBS Cowboy .45-70 dies.