PDA

View Full Version : 300 blackout crimping issues

Crazyrcflier
05-04-2015, 10:39 PM
Hi all. I am new to casting. I have cast up some lee 309-230 boolits and used Smokes powder coating on them. I ran the boolits thru my lee 309 sizer. I am using converted brass that I annealed and seated the boolits to 2.20 OAL.

My issue is crimping. No matter what I do the bullet doesn't crimp tight. I have tried the lee FCD and the crimp on my redding seating die. I have went from extremely light crimp and kept going heavier in little steps and it just won't hold the bullet. I have went so heavy I feel I have swaged down some of the boolits.

any suggestions?

popper
05-04-2015, 11:10 PM
annealed- try sizing a few times on a couple cases and see it neck tension increases. Were these neck sized with the Lee tool?

Crazyrcflier
05-04-2015, 11:14 PM
Ok. I tried 10 rounds. 7 crimped nicely with a light crimp, I can't twist the bullet in the case. The other 3 would never get tight. I pulled the rounds and used 3 different pieces of brass and they all crimped nicely just like the other 7 did.

I am am thinking my annealing process is a little inconsistent causing some cases to not get annealed properly and allowing more spring back. I am annealing with Tempilac and a drill, but I have the parts for an auto annealer.

I guess i better build the auto annealer and see if that will help.

Crazyrcflier
05-04-2015, 11:15 PM
These were full length sized with a redding sizer screwed down all the way and then a little more to allow a cam over of the press.

rockshooter
05-04-2015, 11:58 PM
fatter boolet, harder alloy
Loren

RobsTV
05-05-2015, 06:50 AM
I don't even bother sizing them as they drop at .309 at their largest point. Only allows a very light crimp.

Have you tried them with cases that you did not anneal? Like most shooters, you might not even need to go through the trouble.