PDA

View Full Version : High in Antimony for Pistol & Rifle? Newb

psychbiker
04-29-2015, 04:45 PM
I'll state, I'm a newb. Havent cast anything yet. Getting my supplies has been tough. Lead is getting scarce in California.

I have access to several 100 lbs of lead bout an hour away for $0.75/lb. Seller stated they are high in antimony compared to wheel weights. I'm going to call and see if they know exact or rough BHN.

I plan to cast 9mm, 40, 45, 30 cal for blackout and maybe for 308 m1a. What would too high antimony be for pistol? I know I want higher for rifle. I plan to tumble powder coat and bake for rifle. Pistol will start as just alox.

I have coww and lino and some mono and diving weights so far.

62chevy
04-29-2015, 04:57 PM
Looks like you are headed in the right direction so ya get the lead and worry about it latter. Cast a few bullets and see how they come out and then test for hardness.

bangerjim
04-29-2015, 06:08 PM
You need to buy a hardness tester.

On the cheeeeep, you can use the artist pencil set test.....found on here.

Get it.....all of it! Especially since you are in Comifornia.......the anti-gun/anti-lead liberal state.

runfiverun
04-29-2015, 10:13 PM
get it anyway.
then get some pure lead.
now go to mixin.
I use the same alloy for rifle and pistol, and only change it to suit the mold.

white eagle
05-02-2015, 09:25 PM
I suppose it depends on what you are actually making the boolits for
if for target any old thing will do if for game animals then you really need to keep alloy composition in tune

runfiverun
05-02-2015, 11:24 PM
it would be nice to know the composition of my alloy.
I don't.
it still works on paper and makes holes in animals, I don't get too wrapped up in exactness.
I test what I got and adjust, it's all I can do.

ejcrist
05-04-2015, 12:13 PM