PDA

View Full Version : Need a Primer on Gas Checks

miestro_jerry
03-13-2008, 10:24 PM
I have several varieties gas checks, Hornady, Lyman and ones from the bulk buys.

Is there a primer on gas checks, sizes, dimension, speed limitations and what other information out?

Thanks,

Jerry

Bret4207
03-15-2008, 07:38 AM
Jerry, I've watched your post for a couple days now wondering if anyone would answer. I don't really know what it is you're asking. Could you expand on it a bit?

square butte
03-15-2008, 08:22 AM
I think Jerry is asking for a tutorial on how to use gas checks. What problems might he encounter using checks from the various makers and in using differnt styles of sizersto check with? Also info regarding choosing the proper check for different molds. Is there a go to source for this kind of info on gas checking. I've been waiting to see what people might have to input here too because I'm new to gas checking and need some of the same info.. For instance. I have a Star sizer, But have a local Cast Bullet business owner, who also sells quite a bit of used reloading equipment, telling me that you can't really gas check with a star sizer. It appears, from the posts I've read here, that many of you do check with a star sizer. Since I haven't tried it yet, I don't know what kinds of problems he has with the Star. But he uses a Lyman 4500 in his shop to check with. I was about to order a .310 and .311 die from Magma untill I talked with him last week. Now I'm in a bit of a quandry about it. I have checks on order from the recent group buy for .30 and .35. Also some older Lyman in .35. How important is the size of the push through rod? I size my plain base bullets nose first. Same with gas checks, or base first? Is there some reading I might be able to get my hands on? I think you guys are going to be Jerry and my best source of truely good and practical info..

Bret4207
03-15-2008, 01:37 PM