PDA

View Full Version : RCBS Reloader Special 2 Redrill & Tap for Bushing?

JesterGrin_1
04-22-2015, 06:42 PM
I have a RCBS Piggyback II that has been collecting dust and would like to give it a try but I do not have a Single Stage press with the bushing.

So I thought I would ask thoughts on who could do such a thing on an RCBS Reloader Special 2 to enable one to use the RCBS Piggyback bushing for its installation and use?

To that end if it should even really be done?

I felt as though I should ask all of the other nutty DIY people on this forum as it seems a bit of a waste to go out and probably spend too much money on a brand new and or used press that will not be used normally.

But if one should happen to have one that they would be willing to part with either by trade for the above listed press and or an amount that will not break the bank please by all means let me know. Thank You.

Catshooter
04-23-2015, 01:44 AM
Jester,

I would think that when RCBS builds those presses, they are clamped into a jig and the loading die hole and the ram hole are drilled at the same time. Then they slap in a larger bit and drill the die hole for the bushing.

The bushing is a pretty good sized hole. And it needs to be lined up with the ram pretty closely. This is one of those things that if you have to ask, you shouldn't do it.

Was it me ( and I have some machining skills) I'd buy a press with the bushing. If I could afford it that is.

Cat

JesterGrin_1
04-23-2015, 04:58 PM
Cat the worst part is I was thinking the same thing lol. I was just picking at straws I guess. Thank You for the Road Closed Sign lol.

seagiant
04-23-2015, 05:37 PM
Hi,
Yep! Sale yours and just buy a RC! Trust me!!!

EDG
04-23-2015, 07:19 PM
For those of us that spent part of a career in manufacturing that is an easy process but it takes some tooling and good machines.

Here is how I might try it and you will see that it is much easier to swap your old press in another that has the bushing.