PDA

View Full Version : Lead/tin 20/1, will a small amount of antimony make a difference.

nitro-express
04-22-2015, 08:03 AM
I want to try 20/1 and 30/1 in my 38-55 with a 380 bore:

The tin in my alloy stash is from babbitt, mixed 50/50 by weight with pure lead, so it contains some Sb. Therefore my 20/1 mix will have app 1/4% Sb. I don't think that small amount will make any difference?

I'm new to cast bullets and the whole smelting thing. When I smelt, and flux, I can't seem to see the difference between "dross" and "valuable alloy". When I stir I see little things swimming just below the surface, when all is still again a skin forms but it looks like a thin sheet of tin, somewhat dull, but metallic. I somehow think it is tin forming because of the near freezing temperature wind that is ventilating my work area. When I pour the melt into ingots, I can see the skin on the surface, and it is dull. I flux with beeswax.

My bad, a picture sure would help.

Defcon-One
04-22-2015, 12:15 PM
I would say that the 1/4% Sb won't make much of a difference. Even Pewter adds some Sb with the Tin and everyone seems to use that. It will be just a little bit harder, but not enough to really matter. Should only raise your BHN from 10 to 10.2. Use what you have.

But, if you're like me and want things as close to true alloy as possible, for repeatability later, then buy some Bar Solder or Pure Tin.

Your melt sounds pretty normal to me. I flux with Pine Sawdust! Try it and you will never go back to wax. The sawdust cleans better and is a really complete fluxing agent. It is cheap and easy to make when you need more.

DC-1

Mitch
04-22-2015, 04:21 PM
info on rotometals site.1% Sb =.92 bhn.1%sn=.29bnh.so not much difference.

GLL
04-22-2015, 05:37 PM
What is the actual composition of your babbitt tin source?

Jerry

captaint
04-23-2015, 11:21 AM