PDA

View Full Version : What to do with 8# SR4756?

Themoose
04-04-2015, 02:46 PM
Answering a post earlier today got me thinking, and that can be a problem in itself... anyway, I'm going down a path most of us will get to if we stay around long enough... age and medical issues have begun to eat away at what I like to do and enjoy... seeing the not so rosy future and how I need to adapt, started me into thinking about some of the things that I will probably not use ... I have been casting and reloading 12 ga slugs for at least 30 years and now find that is coming to an end...my favorite load for the Lyman 525 was powered by a healthy load of SR4756... learning of its demise, I was fortunate to get an 8# jug at a LGS...Now, I'm not sure what to do with it... I don't really want to try to sell it over the internet and have the hassle of shipping it, and I'm not sure what other uses there are for it in pistol/rifle applications...anyone have any experience with selling or trading unopened powder at LGS or gun shows? Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

TheMoose

Alan in Vermont
04-04-2015, 03:28 PM
If you had your location listed you might get an offer to buy from someone close enough to make it a face-to-face deal.

Should you happen to be near VT I might well try to scrape the funding together to make that happen.

Themoose
04-04-2015, 04:14 PM
Alan,
Sorry, I live in south central PA...sometimes I wish I lived in VT...

Le Loup Solitaire
04-04-2015, 11:51 PM
4756 although popular for use in shotgun shell loading is an excellent powder for use in some pistol cartridges. I have found it to work very well for me in 45ACP. You might try to sell it on Craig's List or privately. Check with Midway or MidSouth shooter's Supply for current pricing. LLS

Treeman
04-05-2015, 09:33 AM