PDA

View Full Version : New caster to be

Stove_Pipe
03-09-2008, 11:04 PM
Hi all. Just got some casting stuff for free (except for the back pain) here
http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=1&f=9&t=684371

I have been buying .45 200grn LSWC and love it in my 1911, and can't wait to make my own. I am a total newb to casting so I await any words of wisdom here to help me get started in this continuation to my reloading addiction.

JIMinPHX
03-09-2008, 11:47 PM
It looks like you have enough good stuff there to make almost every member here on this board jealous. The one thing that I don’t see in that collection is a good book. I would recommend the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook. Get one, read it well, then come back here to the board with any questions that you may have. The friendly folks here are happy to help.

Goatlips
03-09-2008, 11:55 PM
Your cup runneth over Stove Pipe. :drinks: As to your request, the wisdom is debatable but my playing with lead site might give you some usable information:

http://goatlipstips.cas-town.com/smelting.html

Goatlips

45nut
03-10-2008, 12:02 AM
Welcome to CB,, great score there, I think you ought to drop off a couple dinner gift certificates to the kind lady that set you up though.

Read up in the classics and stickies and , yes, goatlips has a great site too!

carpetman
03-10-2008, 12:22 AM
Stove Pipe--Welcome. You certainly dont want to look a gift horse in the mouth. Obviously the source did casting,so he did reloading---but there is no reloading equipment. I'm guessing maybe he did have a sizer. I'd check with the source to see if there is other associated equipment.

garandsrus
03-10-2008, 12:35 AM
Stove Pipe,

You may want to get in on a Group Buy that is just about to close. It is for a 6 cavity Lee mold that will produce 200gr SWC. It should be a great mold and you would kick yourself later if you didn't get it since you shoot .45 :)

John

Stove_Pipe
03-10-2008, 11:01 AM