PDA

View Full Version : New Cast shooter

Hunter711
04-02-2015, 01:39 PM
Been lurking around here for a few weeks, figured I might as well join. I don't post a lot on internet forums, but I like it here and may do more than I typically would.

I've been a rifle shooter practically all my life, buying or trading a handgun here and there and quickly losing interest. I like to consider myself a hunter more than a shooter, so that's been the driving force behind me focusing on rifles.

I've been loading for my hunting rifles for 15 years or so, and dabbled in a few handgun cartridges here and there. About 2 years ago my interest in handguns began to grow again, but this time hasn't let up.

I couldn't afford to shoot near as much as I'd like running factory ammo through my pistols, so I started to research and purchase some reloading things for a few of my revolvers. Found a local guy that casts some great boolits, and bought 1000 about a month ago. Got a good load for both my .44 Special and .44 mag with his Keith style boolits and my bucket is getting more and more empty. I honestly have enjoyed this more than I have anything in a long time, and the cost is a fraction of what I'm used to.

My next step is to get a good stash of loaded ammo ready to shoot for both my .44s, then dive into the .38/.357 world. Hopefully will eventually get to 9mm and .45 ACP, but it may be a while.

I've got a lot to learn and have already learned quite a bit by reading around this site. Having a lot of fun with this.

Sorry for the long post, just felt like I should give a little intro if I'm going to be posting here. Here's a quick pic of most of my handguns.
http://i476.photobucket.com/albums/rr124/hooks7/PART_1427996029863_IMG_20150402_132113351.jpg

454PB
04-02-2015, 01:50 PM
Welcome to the madness!

Be forewarned that this is a very addictive hobby, bordering on obsession. There is a wealth of knowledge on this site, and many helpful members.

ejcrist
04-02-2015, 03:06 PM