PDA

View Full Version : A ? for those familiar with the Lee 200gr 45 Cal. R.E.A.L. boolit . . .

bedbugbilly
04-01-2015, 12:40 PM
Long story short - I've been shooting BP for 50+ years - NSSA in years past as well as round ball - both flint and percussion. Minies in the Rifled Muskets and patched ball in smoothbore and rifles. So . . I have no experience with the R.E.A.L. slugs.

I just purchased a 45 cal. H & A under hammer from a fellow member and I have to order a mold from Titan - will of course get a .440 round ball mold but I have a question in regards to the R.E.A.L. conicals . . . .

The H & A under hammer is made for patched round ball - not sure what the twist rate is. I now only "plink" at 25 and 50 yards - paper, novelty targets, etc. - my competition days are over with.

My question is - does anybody use a R.E.A.L. slug out of their slow twist round ball barrels - and if so - what can one expect as far as accuracy?

From the description of the slug on Titan's page - the boolit is designed to be introduced into the bore and it is somewhat "swaged" into the rifling. Does a "short starter" need to be used? Do the flange rings provide a decent seal to the grooves so that there is not a lot of "blow by"? Or is a higher charge load required to conform the R.E.A.L. conical into the rifling on the way out of the barrel? I primarily use lighter loads and wouldn't be hunting with the rifle - just plinking. Is one of the Lee R.E.A.L. molds and the slugs it casts worth the $20.00 to try or is it a waste of time to try it out of a slow twist RB barrel?

Thanks for any info and suggestions - greatly appreciated.

Jim

bubba.50
04-01-2015, 02:47 PM
I've used Lee R.E.A.L.'s in my 50 & 54 cal slow twist guns with very good results. I use the lighter weight ones as the length & width are closer to the same, sorta like an r/b.

a word of caution on yer underhammer : ya better check the bore dimensions. some, if not all, have bores that take a .433 diameter ball.