PDA

View Full Version : Andersonville 1864 (graphic)

Dutchman
03-25-2015, 01:14 AM
On July 9, 1864, Sgt. David Kennedy of the 9th Ohio Cavalry wrote in his diary:

Wuld that I was an artist & had the material to paint this camp & all its horors or the tounge of some eloquent Statesman and had the privleage of expressing my mind to our hon. rulers in Washington, I should gloery to describe this hell on earth where it takes 7 of its ocupiants to make a shadow.

http://images52.fotki.com/v726/photos/2/28344/2133622/Andersonvillesurvivor-vi.jpg

I come across stuff when doing genealogy research.

texaswoodworker
03-25-2015, 06:24 AM
Prison camps on both sides of the North/South border were horrible. 12% of all prisoners in Northern camps died, and 15.5% of all prisoners in Southern camps died. 30,000 Union and nearly 26,000 Confederate prisoners died by the end of the war. Starvation and disease were widespread.

IIRC, Andersonville was the worst camp in the South, and Camp Douglas in Chicago (17%-23% death rate) was the worse in the North.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/1d/Andersonville_Prison.jpg

Hickory
03-25-2015, 06:30 AM
"It is good that war is so horrible, least we come to enjoy it."
Ulysses S. Grant

texaswoodworker
03-25-2015, 07:32 AM
Ulysses S. Grant

I just finished reading into more of Camp Douglas' history. The commanders there purposely made conditions worse for the prisoners several times. I think they did enjoy it. There is defiantly evil in this world.

Love Life
03-25-2015, 07:49 AM
I visited Andersonville 2 weeks ago. To see the small space where they had 45,000 prisoners, and the absolute lack of shade, was humbling and intense. The streams that flow through are small as well.

Skunk1
03-25-2015, 08:21 AM