PDA

View Full Version : New law in WV

44man
03-13-2015, 08:59 AM
We always could open carry but now anyone 18 or over that can legally own a gun can carry concealed without a permit.
Need a pancake holster now to fit my 10" 45-70 BFR! :bigsmyl2::bigsmyl2:

Outpost75
03-13-2015, 11:25 AM
It is not 18, but 21. http://wvmetronews.com/2015/03/12/bill-removing-concealed-carry-requirement-clears-house-senate/
The House changed the Senate proposal by raising the age from 18 to 21 for a person to be able to carry concealed without a permit. Because of the House changes, the bill now goes back to the Senate. The legislation may end up in a conference committee to resolve differences.

bedbugbilly
03-13-2015, 12:09 PM
They did the same thing a few years back in Arizona. I winter there so I not only have a Michigan permit, but went ahead and took the classes and got a concealed permit in Arizona as well.

I have no knowledge about what the laws are in WV - but will mention about Arizona. In Arizona, you now do not need a concealed permit - or you can take the classes and get a concealed permit. HOWEVER . . . there are differences in the law concerning carrying with no permit and carrying with a permit. Example: If you do not have a permit, you can not carry into any establishment that serves liquor. If you do have a permit, you can carry but you cannot drink. (I'm a firm believer that firearms and liquor don't mix anyway).

There are also certain areas such as some parks, etc. where you can carry with a permit but cannot if you do not have one.