PDA

View Full Version : What is the best OAL?

fshfindr
03-09-2015, 07:44 PM
I remember reading somewhere that a longer bullet is more accurate than a shorter bullet. I have not had an opportunity to experiment during the winter. I will enter a match in May with my 77-357 Ruger carbine so I'm looking for whatever edge I can get. I will use the Lee 358g 357 SWC (TL358-158) which is very accurate in my GP100. OAL right now is 1.5. Hopefully it will be as accurate in the Ruger carbine. I will probably use Unique 4-6.5 g. I also have Trail Boss and the OAL will help determine how much of that I use. I will listen to any and all advise since I am new to the rifle. Thank you. [smilie=s:

Rich L.
Lib with Guns

Cowboy_Dan
03-09-2015, 11:16 PM
SOME rifles like the bullet seated into the lands, SOME like it a bit off, and SOME like a longer run up to the rifling. You will just have to let the rifle tell you what it likes.

Ben
03-10-2015, 08:05 AM
This has been hashed and re-hashed many times here on this forum.

The OAL for a reloaded round for any revolver, pistol , or rifle is dictated by the gun itself.

Assuming that a reloading manual is the " last word " on OAL of the loaded round is a mistake.

The magazine length with bolt action rifles and the OAL written in a book may not " Jingo " with each other.

Let the gun tell you the OAL, not the manual.

Many 1911 .45 ACP autos are extremely finicky about the OAL of the loaded round, a couple of hundredths of an inch difference is also the difference in a smooth functioning auto pistol vs. one that jams about 1/2 of the time.

An exception to this is cartridges like the 9 mm Luger in which a deep seated bullet can drive up peak pressures to a danger point. Not seating deeper than the recommended OAL for this cartridge may be in your best interest.

Ben

Lead Fred
03-10-2015, 08:13 AM
Yup, first measure your free bore, then adjust the OAL .020 off the lands, and work in from there.

UBER7MM
03-16-2015, 10:40 AM
+1 for Ben.