PDA

View Full Version : 358 Win from 30-06

Hannibal
03-07-2015, 12:13 AM
I'm new to reforming brass, so pardon me if my terminology/methodology isn't quite right. I have a .358 BLR and a chamber cast has shown me that the neck was cut .060" deeper than the SAAMI max length spec. I'm thinking of using this to my advantage by reforming 30-06 brass into long-neck .358. Having never attempted this, I am wondering if a Redding form/trim die is going to be helpful, or perhaps necessary?
I understand that annealing/neck turning/reaming are going to be required finishing steps. Just not sure about how the trimming/reforming needs to happen?
Any and all constructive input would be appreciated.

waksupi
03-07-2015, 02:50 AM
I would just form from .308 brass, and not worry about it.

Duckiller
03-07-2015, 03:21 AM
+1 What Waksupi said. Let the brass grow a bit before you trim it and then don't trim too short.

dragon813gt
03-07-2015, 08:57 AM
I would just form from .308 brass, and not worry about it.

Neck comes up short when you do this. If you have a 358 full length sizer try running to 30-06 brass through it. It may work or you might have to trim the brass some first. I've never done it but I'd try that before buying forming dies.

MarkP
03-07-2015, 09:28 AM