PDA

View Full Version : Problems with belted magnums

jednorris
02-23-2015, 01:26 PM
I have been reloading for many years but have encountered a problem that I cannot find an answer to. I reload for 7mm Mag., .300 Win. Mag. .300 Weatherby Mag. and .270 Short Mag. and have a problem with chambering after about two reloads. I full length resize with appropriate shell holder in a set of R.C.B.S. dies. I have checked the O.A.L. as well as the demensions of all exterior measurements and they appear dead on. The thickness and diameter of the belt is fine and I can find no reason that it is hard to chamber. I thought I might try small base dies, but R.C.B.S. says they are not reccomended for bolt action rifles. Any Ideas

C. Latch
02-23-2015, 01:29 PM
Measure just in front of the belt. There's a little sliver of the case that's hard for regular dies to resize; a guy named Larry Willis (?) sells a collet die that is designed to fix this problem. I've never used one but it's on my list of stuff to get soon.

TheDoctor
02-23-2015, 01:37 PM
If you full length size them, be sure to keep a close eye for pending case head separation. I love my 7 mags, but love nothing about the belted ones.

Themoose
02-23-2015, 02:28 PM
Try this link... It is a collet die meant for properly sizing belted magnums correctly... I have one and it works great.

http://www.larrywillis.com/answers.html I used to shoot a .264 Win Mag and had problems chambering rounds until I got this die...

Hope this helps

Hardcast416taylor
02-23-2015, 02:48 PM
I have an Interarms Mark X Mauser rifle in 7 Rem. Mag. After 2 loadings I was having chambering problems even though I full length resized. I was keeping the cases trimmed to correct length, but still was having problems. I bought a neck size only die from RCBS and my problems ceased! I have a large enough supply of brass for my lifetime of use to not worry about a case being loaded that was not fired in my rifle.Robert

Iron Whittler
02-23-2015, 02:55 PM